My thoughts for being an effective leader in project MGT

While looking over my notes for chapter 10, which deals with leadership. I began to compile my thoughts on what I believe what makes an effective leader. Great leaders are able to get team members to perform at their best when they can reach them on a more personal level. An example would be talking to them versus talking at them. Knowing what means of communication to use is key to managing a project. I would rather someone over communicate than not to communicate at all. Getting feedback from the team is also critical. I’ve learned from experience you get more buy in when you collaborate with team members. They feel like they are valued and are willing to go the extra mile sometimes. Another key to success is to build trust amongst team members. When you include your team member’s ideas and strategies you are building trust. Once a project manager or leader has the trust of the team then that’s when task begin to really roll along. When assembling teams for the first time everyone is feeling each other out. It’s not into the project manager builds that trust than you will see productivity increase. On my current job I built the trust of my employees by engaging in talks with them daily not only about the job but topics outside of the job. Then I began to work on other things that would make them more successful on the job. And once they see that I delivered on my promises. The trust levels increases. Now that the trust is there project managers can implement the game plan and began to tackle the critical path tasks. Leadership change for starters is not always welcome on the job. In my opinion more times than not workplaces does not stress change enough. From my own experience every time there is some kind of change whether it is a process or equipment implementation on a work cell. Operators are reluctant and always question why we changed. Great project managers are good at leading change and as mentioned above building trust. Once the team knows you have the project and team best interest at heart, you will then be able to lead change. Honesty is the last element I would like to add. Project managers must always be honest. Not just the project manager but everyone should be honest on the job. In my opinion, what makes people dishonest or with hold information is the fear of hurting team members feeling. To increase productivity of a project and stay on track project managers must be honest with himself and team members. Class I found the below article online an it discusses traits of a great project manager and leadership. What are your thoughts on leadership?

http://www.cio.com.au/article/577425/5-signs-great-project-manager/

4 thoughts on “My thoughts for being an effective leader in project MGT

  1. This resonated with me as I have a manager who is absolutely a “talk at you” type. His means of communication is highly ineffective and as such, his feedback is nearly always ignored by all members of our team. We tend to be more effective when we speak among ourselves rather than attempt to discern what he is saying. He could really use a class on effective communication.

  2. Hi David.

    Interesting piece. What stood out the most for me in your blog was your section on honesty within the work place. Your opinion on what makes people dishonest or withhold information is the fear of hurting other team members. I think by keeping opinions/ideas/concepts or whatever it may be can potentially limit the team. By keeping everything on the table, it seem as though a good team and project manager could adapt and make the whole, stronger.

  3. David,
    Thank you for sharing this. “I would rather someone over communicate than not to communicate at all. ” I 100% agree with you there. Communication is key to the success of any project and you definitely hit the nail on the head with your assessment. Honesty is certainly key, but it is also important to ensure that no one feels out of the loop as this could lead to animosity down the road.

    Good work!

  4. Another excellent post David!

    As with any endeavor, trust is a must. However, trust takes significant time to form and prove to leadership, team members, and concerned stakeholders. The trust can be garnered through a few sources: 1) formally through a charter 2) reverently via sponsorship 3) subject matter expertise. Any and all of these sources can be leveraged effectively by a project manager to have the intended impact on the project. Ultimately, the project manager is responsible for the scope, schedule, budget, quality (and associated positive perception) outcomes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *