Google’s New Design For The Future

So, Google recently announced their new design for the future.  The new gadget is a pair of glasses that also functions somewhat like a computer…..

…..see for yourself

As was discussed in class, Google’s recent announcement is an example of Design of Goods and Services.  Google’s new eyewear was a perfect example of product decision and strategy. Google decided to differentiate themselves within the marketplace as well as connecting many of their vast products they already have in the marketplace.

The initial information released about “Project Glass” was that it will function somewhat like a supplemental computer.  I think eventually google hopes it can replace tablets or more specifically smartphones.  Currently, the demos that were available to the public have an in-ear speaker, screen, camera, camcorder, and wi-fi.  Some of the people who tested it believe it will display emails or the web instantly on the screen.  During the Tech show demo Google had a video of skydivers jumping out of a plan recording everything on the eyeglasses.

At first glance of reading and seeing the images from the article I wanted to laugh.  After reading about the product more and learning about how it can potentially replace or connect with multiple google products, it started to make more sense.  After taking a step back I realized that I had the same reaction, as well as many others, when Steve Jobs first introduced the first oversized ipod, or IPAD.  Who’s laughing now.  The Ipad was the perfect example of Product Design and Product strategy being perfectly executed thru operations and product management.

Do you believe in Google’s view of the future?

….heres the demo……     D7TB8b2t3QE  or http://youtu.be/D7TB8b2t3QE

References:

http://www.slate.com/blogs/trending/2012/06/28/project_glass_goes_sky_diving_at_google_i_o.html

http://techcrunch.com/2012/06/27/google-glass-future/

http://www.sfgate.com/technology/dotcommentary/article/Take-a-peek-through-Google-s-Project-Glass-device-3671104.php

23 thoughts on “Google’s New Design For The Future

  1. I had the same thought as you. I was suspires that the project glass really came out. Actually, I read some news about the project glass and I thought that is just a concept product. It might not sell in the market or Google may sell that product after 10 years. The reason why I didn’t believe it would come out that early because I think it doesn’t make sense. As your example, apple did the same “crazy” thing before. Steve Job created a lot of products that people didn’t believe him before he made it. When we step back, there are so many products what people don’t believe it before it’d came out. I think Google and Apple both are the good example of Product Design and Product strategy because they always have some great ideas which people never thought about, like IPhone. Of course, I believe Google’s view in the future because they are very successful in the market and they always have creative idea. By the way, I really like the way that Google introduce the Project Glass. It was very creative.

  2. Just like an author I am critical about the success of this product. The idea is great and the product is innovative, however, I don’t it will be a competitor to smartphones or Ipads. First, I don’t think its practical and can’t be healthy for the eyes.
    I think Google is trying to gain more loyal customers in developing this new product. As author mentioned, The Project Glasses will tie in with existing Google’s products and therefore the consumer will have a motive to continue buying Google’s products.

  3. I agree with the other two comments left that it looks like a great thing but it might be not so practical and safe. For instance how are you suppose to drive and have those glasses on and not make an accident? All you will see will be probably driving directions. It might be a great thing to have but we will find out after it comes out.

  4. Very interesting comparison! Everyone did laugh at the ideas that Steve Jobs came up with, but I feel that his products have a larger use for the entire public; these glasses seem very novelty. I mean I won’t be buying them, plus can you imagine everyone walking around with these on?! It seems very Jetson like. Anyways, time will tell what happens.

  5. Like other people said one thing that Im worried is the safety of the product. Its features seems to be very cool and creative and I do think the product will attract a lot of people. And it says that the product has some similar features than tablets and smartphone but I don’t think the product will replace those.

  6. I am one of those who is very excited about this product. I imagine that, at first blush, many people were skeptical about the usefulness and safety of cell phone usage when they first hit the market. I actually recall many people saying “Why would I need a phone with me at all times?” and now people feel entirely disconnected from the world if they happen to forget their mobile phone at home. It is entirely possible that this product may flop, as is the case with many new technology offerings, but it is very exciting to see the new and different directions that things are headed in. These glasses are a great example design strategy and differentiation.

  7. I find this new product very intriguing. I probably would have to read more about it. I do believe that it will have a great future in the market, once Google adds its final touch to the product and is sure that it is safe for consumers to buy and use. Technology will never stop evolving and this product surely will differentiate Google from other competitors for a while, until another competitor invents something similar. Just like the Tablets that can be compared to the IPad. This is a product that I will definitely want to look into more but I would probably not purchase it right away. I would rather hear reviews from other consumers about it.

  8. Technology is growing everyday. It has exceeded in ways we would have never imagine, so it comes to no surprise to me that Google has come up with such an innovative product like the “Project Glass”. It is good that Google is trying to expand there company by distributing new products to there consumers, but the project glass seems a little farfetched, being that I don’t think many people would take use to something such as this.

    Like the author said, everyone laughed at Steve Jobs when he introduced apple to the world through IPods, IPhones, I Pads etc. But, look at apple now, it has grown to levels no one really expected. They’re everywhere now! Apple has a superb project design and strategy team behind them and Google only hopes in having such success. So you never know, this might be the new “IPod” everyone is will be looking for. Time will only tell.

  9. I think the product is good but the thing I don’t get is what will people who already have glasses do or those who don’t like wearing glasses. The thing about this product is that it wont be that popular due to the fact that not that many people like wearing glasses. Overall the product look cool but the problem they might run into is that not many people like wearing glasses and what happens to the people who already have glasses.

  10. I believe this is a wonderful tool. It reminds me of the manner in which bluetooth earpieces assist society by allowing them to be free the use of their hands. While, unlike the bluetooth earpiece, these glasses could not be used while operating motor vehicles, they would be useful in other circumstances. A person could more easily take notes without requiring nearly as much space or movement, thus potentially increasing their personal labor productivity. Circumstances, specifically relating to this product’s space benefits, include notetaking while in a train, bus, or an airplane.

  11. Technology is always growing and improving. We do not always have faith in the newest products, however, sometimes the products we expect to fail, end up being the most successful. I agree with the others that only time will tell if this product becomes successful or not.

  12. So so cool! It looks so futuristic. I love it! I hope this does work out because I would love to be able to try them on. As of right now, I personally would not buy it, but I would be interested in seeing how they will tweak it before the public has access to it. I try to avoid checking my emails constantly on my iphone, but I do a few times an hour. I think to have the emails pop up on my glasses would be rather frustrating. I’m sure this can be changed in the settings. Either way, very cool product and I cannot wait to be able to play with it.

  13. I hope this product works out. You’re right when they were about to release the first IPad everyone was like whats the point of a larger itouch/iphone, but it was such a successful product that now they have 3 versions of it and probably more to come. I would love to see the outcome of this product as well and would want to see what Google comes up with next.

  14. The product is definitely cutting-edge and innovative – a true competitive advantage for Google! It’s almost like a computerized monocle. However, it could possibly cause severe eye problems. If it does, Google will have to deal will numerous lawsuits, which could eventually ruin its image.

  15. It’s funny how when the iPad came out two years ago, many of us laughed at the idea of spending hundreds of dollars on a tablet that was essentially an enlarged iPod Touch. Now, it’s one of the hottest products out there, and it is almost becoming a necessity to own one. When I read your post about the Google glasses, I can’t imagine anyone actually walking around with a pair without being laughed at but then again, with Google’s credibility in the technology department, it just might become the must have gadget in the next few years.

  16. This is a fantastic opinion about the google glasses. When this product first was announced, I was all for it. I dream for the day when I can have everything connected to one device, let alone the glasses I wear. Now as I think about it, the glasses would be an extreme investment, and if the product is lost or stolen, you are completely cut off. If I lose these pair of glasses then all of the devices that I have will be gone as well. I think that this is a great idea, but I would need a lot more information before I would purchase a product of such magnitude. Needless to say, I will still probably by the glasses, but I also might need to purchase a back up pair as well.

  17. This thing looks amazing and it definetely the best example of future device. However, I am not sure that it will be able to replace even an iPad. Right now I can hardly imagine someone wearing this glasses on a train and looking in one spot, but reading something. I think this glasses will be modified, or will have something with them, because it is difficult to fit in a lot of information in pair of glasses.
    However, the idea is good. Straight from movies such as “Mission Impossible”.

  18. I had the same opinion as you at first. If this product does come out everything will be in one device. This product is actually amazing in how it can display so many different things, and include so many different devices in one. I can see this product being very beneficial to people in the future. I would love to be able to test one of these products out. I can also see a lot of problems associated with this product, though. For example since society breaks eye glasses so easily, there would have to be insurance that would cover the damage or some kind of replacement plan or people will not want to buy the product.

  19. Hands free devices is the future whether its a device the future. Eye devices seem like the clear route to take when creating ideas for hands free devices. Because of all the talent and resources that Google has, it doesn’t appear that they will fail anytime soon. With an idea like Glass, being very complicated and new. Fixing any bugs right now would be smart, before it is accessible to the public. I feel as though Google is heading in the right direction for the future. But tablets and phones are in the more near future and further research and development into those devices is needed.

  20. I’ll give google credit for doing two things here, One is making this amazing product and two is not releasing it anytime soon. First of all, its great multitasking product that capture pictures,video calls, texts, e-mails, weather, navigation and so on. These are things that we do daily and this what will attract costumers. Regarding safty issues while driving I that this device is safer than other GPS device in the market, with google glass individuals will not have to turn their head or look for the correct direction because the screen in google glass is designed in a way that it doesnt distract the user from the real world. and by not releasing this product quickly to the market, google will have enough time retesting and building a solid core apps that will work smoothly with google glass.

  21. One of the biggest goals of any company is product differentiation. this is a really interesting futuristic creation. It would definitely set Google apart from everyone else, but we don’t know what else is in the works from other countries. It would be interesting to see the final product and see the actual response. It seems like gadgets are getting smaller and smaller everyday. If this product is successful and well received by the public it will definitely set them apart from the rest.

  22. The success of a product like this is going to depend on how seamlessly it can be integrated into our everyday lives. The iPhone was successful because it brought numerous devices together for the first time. The average consumer was now able to not only make phone calls, but also check their email and surf the web. To make the next leap the device has to become more transparent to the user. To receive location based information on the fly through an eye piece would definitely fit the bill.

  23. I think this is such a crazy and innovative product, that of course, the public never realized they had a need for. I would agree with one of the last comments, it seems very Jetson-like, and to me, I dont think I would feel comfortable even wearing them. I also feel like these would disconnect people even more, creating even more strained person to person relationships.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *