Can an Apple go Stale?

Most of us can agree that around every corner, we are bound to see some sort of Apple device, whether it is an iPhone, iPod, iPad, or Macbook.  Apple has found a way to sneak up into our everyday lives.  The last time I remember Apple computers being in demand was during elementary school, when all the kids fought to play Oregon Trail on the Macintosh.  But somehow Apple has managed to penetrate the market and dominate its competitors

In class we went into detail about the product life cycle and its different stages.  So far, Apple has passed its Introduction, and Growth Stage.  Currently Apple is without a doubt in their Maturity Stage.  Their stock price just keeps rising, and they are seeing nothing but profits within the company.  Orders of high volume are constant, and they are always finding new ways to innovate their products.

Recently, Apple released their 4th quarter earnings and they are apparently now worth 97.6 billion dollars.  This makes them the worlds most valuable company.  I’m curious to see when, or even if they will ever go through their Decline Stage.  It will be interesting to see how they will deal with this situation, and how long will it take for this Apple to go stale.

 

What is your opinion? Do you see Apple reaching its Decline Stage within the next couple of day or the next couple of decades?

 

Reference: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052970203718504577182750231602744.html

13 thoughts on “Can an Apple go Stale?

  1. I agree that Apple has been very innovative and very profitable. However I also think they can sustain their surge by the way their company is run. I also heard just recently, that they are designing a TV line of products, but not sure if there is any validity in it. But, on the other hand, if they can develop new products, I think their company will not be in a declining phase.

  2. First off, oh my god! You described exactly what would go on in my 5th and 6th grade classroom! The fight over who would get on the Macintosh to play Oregon Trial next. It got so bad that, my teacher (we had the same teacher for two years, she was awesome!) had to make a schedule of who would play when and for how long. I used to adore that game! I have to be honest, I never in a million years thought of owning an Apple product, let’s face it, Apple’s products have a heavy price tag. Just recently, when I needed a new laptop, I started researching, and to be honest Apple has done something incredible! For those who look into the specs of a computer, this product called a Mac is flawless (to some). For those, (like myself) who don’t understand what a GB is at times, just look at how nice the computer looks and the fact that it is light weight for class and can do the basic windows functions. They have mastered both, so now a Mac is flawless to any market! Although, I did not get the Mac, I stayed loyal to windows. I did run into a slight problem. I recently became the owner of an iPad 2 and iPod touch. UGH! They always have a way to get to you! So what I am trying to say, is that every dog has its day. No one thought anyone could outsell Microsoft, but Apple did. No one thinks Apple can be outsold, but that company just may be in the making. Who knows!?!

  3. This really made me think about when Apple will hit there decline stage. In my opinion, I don’t think Apple will begin declining any time soon. Perhaps, not even in the next 10 years. Some of the products may enter the decline stage but if Apple continues upgrades and innovative product changes I think they have a chance at reviving products through innovation. One thing Steve Jobs did well was to take products we have and make them better. If Apple’s new CEO maintains this position I foresee that Apple’s profits will continue to rise.

  4. The apple technology from when we were in elementary school to now is just wild. I would think apple should start declining within the next ten years. I have no idea what else they could come out with to stay on top. Then again, apple is always thinking of something to tweak to make an existing product better and more attractive. I’ll be curious to see the new next best thing they come out with.

  5. I was reading another post about McDonalds and how they aren’t in the decline stage because they know how to adjust their operations to stay profitable and I think it relates a lot to yours. I don’t think Apple will be declining anytime soon because just as McDonalds, Apple keeps on improving its products. And they do it in such a smart way by having those minor updates or improvements into the iPhone every year, and now the iPad. If apple has in store at least two or three more changes to those products, they still have a minimum of 3 or 4 years to keep leading the technology industry.

  6. Apple made it to the top because of their differentiation strategy. As you said, they have always created innovative products. People would stand in lines that seemed never ending for days just to get their hands on a new product of theirs. However, I feel that Apple will see its decline within the next couple of decades. Since the death of Steven Jobs, I feel that Apple has lost some of its edge. Mr. Jobs was a very large part of why Apple thrived, in that he had brilliant ideas that were different from the rest. Unless they can replace his mind, they’re well on their way to a decline.

  7. I think that Apple can sustain their surge because they are a very innovative company and have a very loyal fan base. They seem to constantly come out with products that people want to buy and pay a high price for. Even without Steve Jobs, they still can grow and thrive as a major corporation.

  8. Apple isn’t going away anytime soon. The company is clearly in the maturity stage, although the prices are still high, costs have lowered further as volumes have increased. However, the market has become more competitive and alternative products such as the android are competing with Apple products. In my opinion, i see the company reaching the declining stage in the next 20 to 30 years.

  9. I believe apple is not declining any time soon but the next couple decades from now, who knows. Apple products has one of the most advance and efficient operating system (OS) out on the market that’s exclusively for apple products only. Their designs are unique, elegant, modern, and distinct that stands out among their competitors. When buying an apple product you know you’re buying a quality product. Which is why I don’t think apple products are declining anytime soon unless a company creates a new and better operating system with a unique/distinct design made with quality.

  10. Apple has had great success because of its innovation and relentless effort by its employees to assemble quality products. Also its unfaltering reliability has given Apple its competitive advantage in the marketplace. I can’t predict if and when Apple will experience its declining stage just as no one could have predicted it to be the most successful company to date. As long as Apple keeps up with technology and customer needs/wants I don’t see them going away anytime soon.

  11. I think Apple won’t hit its decline anytime soon. With how often they are producing new and improved products, to their marketing, and even with the passing of Steve Jobs, everything has helped to keep the company flowing. Their strategy to reel consumers in to buy their products is quite impressive, whether they have the best products or not. They have a pretty good future ahead of them.

  12. I read this article the other day actually and found myself wondering similar questions. Apple is on top and it is only a matter of time until they go on the decline. It seems as though they won’t go on the decline until another company can come in and compete on the same level as Apple. Since Apple has been on the top for so long that it would still be a whlle because they are in control of a large majority of the market share. I agree with th last comment that with the passing of Steve Jobs it has only helped Apple.

  13. I do believe that Apple will reach a peak: there will be a certain time where they will, atleast, slow down on ideas. Right now, there are so many things they can do with technology but in the next couple decades, I do think that there won’t be a big buzz or big ideas from Apple as we currently are experiencing today. Apple is known to be a top company because of their innovation but in the next couple of decades, competitors may come up with other innovating ideas that may take Apple’s place of being the best compnay today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *