Teacher vs Textbook

In class we learned about statistical process control and how it helps a person distinguish between common cause and special cause variation. The example in class where we had to write our name 5 times and then again with the opposite hand was an example of special cause variation. Some kind of an event happened to make our writing look so messy the second time around.

Special cause variation can always be traced to a specific reason. This happens because of unusual circumstances. In order to manage special cause variation, the problem needs to be identified and removed. It is easier to remove special cause than common cause from the system because it can be identified.

Whereas common cause cannot be traced to a specific problem because there are multiple causes contributing to the problem. It affects every outcome, so in order to control common cause variation something in the process needs to be improved. Common cause is inherent in the system. Only management could be blamed for common cause in their system.

These topics made me think about how one little thing can change the way we act, the process time, and the look of something. Writing with my left hand took a lot longer, looked a lot messier, and felt funnier. It would be an identifiable fix if I wanted my writing to look better.

This made me think about how some academic textbooks are written. There are so many incomprehensible concepts that the meaning and the purpose of the article gets lost. We have all had a class where the professor does not teach, but assigns readings, which will be tested on. I believe everyone can interpret readings differently and could get way off base on what the real idea is supposed to be. That is the class where 80% of the students get below a C. The students blame the professor because there is no identifiable cause to why everyone failed. When in reality it is insufficient training.

Then there are the professors that teach the class and give out assignments and questions to make sure students understand the concept. Everyone has the same thought process and understands what the professor wants and what the class entails. The common cause of misinterpretation has turned into a special cause, which can be fixed with proper instructions and understanding.

In this common cause variation, is a professor better than a textbook?

6 thoughts on “Teacher vs Textbook

  1. I think you made a different connection with this topic we discussed. Different in the sense that it I would have never connected our discussion to that, but when I read it I completely agree. As for professor being better than textbooks, I have always been a firm believer that professors are MUCH better. Being a student, I know (and I speak for all the students) how expensive these textbooks can get. Especially being in a private university, and having to buy “custom-made” textbooks for the university, well let us just say my wallet takes a huge hit! Putting the price of the books aside, I still believe that a professor teaches us more than a book ever can. For one, we may interpret the book differently than it is suppose to be. Second, a professor has (hopefully) real life experience of the class they are teaching. Having the ability to hear what actually happens in the “real world” is priceless. The class we are in OM Management, our professor lectures, but also adds her own experiences. Not just in the business world, but also what we encounter on a daily basis. Another thing I feel that textbooks cannot do is give firsthand experience of the concept with an activity. Every class we have had, I remember a fun yet concept filled activity, which I can recall when needed. I have always been a person who learns when I play with the concept. So being able to do that is great! No book has ever given me that and I highly doubt will ever give me that.

  2. I would definitely agree that having a real life person to teach a class is better than attempting to learn solely from a textbook; however, I do think that it’s more than just a question of professor v. textbook. Having a present, knowledgeable professor also, hopefully, includes a certain kind of experience for the class. The activities and discussions that come up in class are definitely what help me to fully grasp the concepts the most, and that wouldn’t be possible if I were expected to learn on my own from a book.

  3. I like how you applied the common cause/special cause differentiation to such a typical situation.
    I would prefer to learn from a professor than a textbook, hands down. A professor has the ability to explain one solution in many different ways to adapt to numerous different ways of thinking found in a classroom.

  4. I would agree with you on this… statistical variation in this sense is something that is constantly coming up in the sense of these issues. I would much rather prefer to learn from a teacher rather than a textbook. Teachers add such a “human” element to things and encompass various theories into our direct lives. Not to mention the overprices cost of the various textbooks.

  5. I don’t necessarily think that just because a professor tries to make sure that all of his/her students understands the material by asking questions proves that all of the students are on the same thought process, but I do think it’s extreamly important for a professor to do so. Students are supposed to read the book and then recieve a summary and get their questions answered through the professors lecture, therefore a professor does actually have to teach rather than just assign readings. I do believe that a professor is better than the book because they are trained to teach and simplify the reading so that his or her students really understand the material and could use their knowledge in the future.

  6. I would have to say that learning from professor is far better than attempting to learn from the pages of a textbook. If this was not the case then there would be no need for the former and a greater need for the latter. I do think, however that it’s more of a question of how successfully does the professor tie the material we learn in class to important everyday events and learning activities that stimulate the learning experience. The black and white of a text offers very little as far as thinking outside of the box, and thereby having a knowledgeable professor fills that void that a book is not capable of offering. Applying the material to the activities and discussions allow me to grasp the concepts in their entirety. (especially in business classes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *